The Month That Was…Joyful June

The Month That Was…Joyful June

What a glorious month we have enjoyed. Do you know that feeling of happy satisfaction because everything has just gone swimmingly well? Our travel to and from France was a breeze, our time there was bliss. Preparations for Wimbledon (we are letting out part of our property and also planning to host garden parties) are all on track. Wills is happy with his plan for what to do after he has graduated (we will share that news closer to the time). All is well here. We are all feeling great and enjoying summer. Times like this feel so deeply joyous.

Robert and I are both trying to reduce our working hours. Until then, Robert has decided to quit the tennis club. That is a big sacrifice for him. He has started to train a part-time administrator with a view to her taking over more of the business side of his work, freeing him up to speed up some of the projects he is juggling, and also allowing more time to be devoted to non-work matters which are becoming our priority.

Twice this month, Jim Adams invited us to select British music for Song Lyric Sunday. I enjoyed these themes so very much. Robert and I have a huge library of albums…and I realized that by far most of them are British artists and bands. So much fun to think about the music that has shaped culture here.

It has been observed by some that planning and organization are amongst my most notable of habits. I have always tried to go about my WordPress activity in a sensible organized manner. As I look ahead to events on WordPress this summer, I keep on asking Melody when they will be hosting another Blogger’s Bake Off. She tells me they will announce that soon. The plan is to rope in Robert and Wills again. However, I have baked in advance of International Scone Week hosted Tandy Sinclair (Lime And Lavender), and this week I published a post featuring my scones for this year POTATO AND STILTON SCONES.

Do look put for Tandy’s invitation to bake scones for International Scone Week. Tandy shared that ISW will be around the second week of August. I know there are many fantastic bakers out there. So, make it easy for other foodie and baking bloggers to discover you by joining in the fun and the opportunity to glean fresh inspiration to zhuzh up scones.

While we were on holiday in France, I continued tinkering with video footage I have taken, and also video content from Pixabay and Pexels. I have a lot to learn, and Wills is being very patient as he talks me through new software. This is a genuinely new creative avenue for me. We have people who work on graphic design – I have never needed to, so I have never thought it worthwhile to acquire these skills. But now I have started to learn, I have experienced a steady flow of ideas as to how to use this new knowledge. Melody seems pleased with my little project devoted to her novels. I was honoured that Melody has attached this to her Amazon Author page. Who knows – perhaps there is a career in marketing and graphic design waiting for me?

Lest I become too cocky about my new found skills, my darling friend has eclipsed my achievements. I spent an hour with Melody just after we returned from France showing her the software I have been using and a few of the basic features, and she went on to produce a video for the organization she works for that very week. Her video looks much more accomplished than anything I have managed so far.

2 thoughts on “The Month That Was…Joyful June

Leave a comment