Tortilla Quiche

Tortilla Quiche

I don’t often see recipe cards in Tesco, but one day they had some on display in our local Tesco Express. I believe it was part of their Food Love Series. This one was entitled Elena’s Cheeky Tortilla Quiche. I tucked it away with other recipes and it has taken ages to get around to giving it a try. There are lots of things I like about this idea. It cuts out messing about with pastry – which means it is an easy to make quiche. Plus, everyone seems to like tortillas. It reminds me a little bit of bocadillo de tortilla lunches we live on in Spain.

The original recipe said to use meaty ham, but as we are virtually meat free nowadays, I decided to use a plant-based ham. I am sort of wishing I had left it out altogether and replaced it with a different ingredient – there are so many that would have gone well with the broccoli. The plant-based ham was so salty and hammy – I realized I just don’t like that taste at all. I suppose ham is a very popular ingredient in Spain. I did very much like the lovely herby topping. I was worried I may have gone overboard – but the chives were delicious, so no regrets there.

So, great idea, but I need to find a better option for fillings. But if you like ham, well you may have a different opinion. Regardless of the filling you choose, a Tortilla Quiche is a great option for summer lunches.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 large white tortilla wraps
  • 75g mature grated cheese
  • 75g plant-based ham, diced
  • 4 eggs
  • 200ml whole milk
  • 150g broccoli, cut into florets
  • fresh chives, chopped

METHOD

Heat the oven to Gas 4/180°C/Fan 160°C. Grease a 20cm, 7cm-deep springform tin with 1 tsp olive oil.

Blanch the broccoli florets in boiling water for a couple of minutes and then transfer them to a bowl of iced water.

Brush the remaining oil lightly over both sides of all four tortillas. Leave two of the tortillas whole, and half the other two so that you have four semi-circles. Lay a whole tortilla in the base of the tin. Then line the sides with the semi-circles, overlapping each at the sides and base of the tin. Place the final tortilla in the base like you did the first and gently press the tortillas down with your fingers pressing them together and ensuring there are no gaps.

Scatter the broccoli, cheese and plant-based ham over the tortilla base. Whisk the eggs and milk in a jug and season with black pepper. Pour the egg mixture into the tortilla base. Sprinkle the chopped chives on top.

Bake for fifty minutes or until cooked through and golden. Allow to cool in the ten for at least ten minutes before removing and slicing into wedges.

Leave a comment