The Month That Was… Appreciative April

The Month That Was… Appreciative April

It’s amusing to me that at my age, I seem to remember more of my mother’s sage advice than in my youth. Much of what Mother Dearest had to say has been said by many. But she passed on what she felt was important to her. More than any other proverbial guidance, the phrase I heard most often was:

“Count your blessings”

I do Mother Dearest. I really do. There are days when I wonder at how I have ended up so many blessings. The most dear to me is of course Robert. My husband works hard, and he is good at what he does. He is intelligent and always eager to learn. He makes everything we do interesting. He has a hunger for experiences. He is fascinated by people and enjoys the lively conversation stirred by a home cooked dinner and a glass of obscure delicious wine.

He has recently completed work on another documentary and is considering his next project. He is trying to find the right balance with work and other commitments. Robert and I also have some plans to travel over the next few months.

He is marvellous. I may have shared that with you before. But in the spirit of counting my blessings, I feel I should state how precious he is to me, and how much I adore him.

April has flown by. We have made the most of every opportunity to spend time in bluebell woods. The wisteria is now blooming. How exciting that May is just round the corner. Here are my posts from April:

We spent a long weekend up with Rachael (Robert’s sister) and family during the girls’ school. We had a chance to visit a property made famous by the BBC production of “Pride And Prejudice”. The National Trust care for the striking Lyme Park – which was used as Pemberley – Mr Darcy’s home. We loved our time there – we especially loved our time in the library. Gorgeous room!

Leave a comment